Fayette County Public Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
**Vision Statement: Every Student; Every Day**Mission Statement: To inspire every student to reach their full potential.**Statement of Goals: Focus on every student. Invest in our staff. Partner with our community.**
Search | Login

Project AWARE

Volunteer for Youth Council!!!
Meet our Project Aware team!
Kelsey Cardin

Kelsey Cardin is the Student Support Specialist at Fayette-Ware Comprehensive High School and Lagrange-Moscow Elementary School. She obtained her bachelor's degree in psychology from Mississippi State University in 2016, and is currently a 2nd year student at the University of Tennessee obtaining her master's in social work. She is a resident of Fayette County and is passionate about social justice, suicide prevention, and football.

Kayla Martin

Kayla Martin is a student support specialist with Fayette County Public Schools and a licensed master social worker working towards her clinical licensure in the state of Tennessee. She is a graduate from the University of Memphis where she earned her master's degree in social work in 2019, and she obtained her bachelor's degree in psychology from Christian Brothers University in 2016. Her passion is working with her students here in Fayette County on coping skills and mindfulness techniques! Kayla also enjoys Chicago Blackhawks hockey, musical theatre, reading, snuggles with her two cats, and a wonderfully-made iced coffee. 

Jasmin Parks

Jasmin Parks is a student support specialist here in the Fayette County Public School district. Jasmin obtained her bachelor’s degree in social work from the University of Memphis. During Jasmin's free time, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends. She hopes to continue her education to obtain a master’s degree in the future.

What is Project AWARE?


The Tennessee AWARE initiative is building state capacity to support and promote school and community-based efforts to expand youth access to behavioral health resources and promote resilience and positive behavior functioning among school-age youth. The initiative emphasizes strong integration between state and local planning and implementation to address gaps in infrastructure and to create new capacity supporting replication, expansion, and sustainability of promising approaches statewide.
 Fayette County Schools is set to receive funding over the next five years to plan and implement the AWARE initiative. Advancing Wellness and Resilience in Education (AWARE) aims to expand youth access to mental health resources and promote resilience and positive behavioral functioning among school-age youth to keep youth in school and out of the juvenile justice system. Project AWARE represents the third and fourth components of President Obama's “Now Is the Time Initiative” which is aimed at making schools safe and focusing on access to mental health services. Fayette County is one of four Tennessee counties to win this federal award coming from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
Prevention strategies will include developing mental health awareness and outreach campaigns, youth and family engagement strategies, establishing early identification and referral processes to connect youth to appropriate services, placing mental health clinicians in schools to deliver effective, targeted and intensive interventions and referrals, refining school discipline policies to reduce loss of instructional time and removals from school due to suspension and expulsion, and implementing evidence-based violence prevention programs.
Fayette County will contract with Professional Care Services to provide school-based therapy. As with any health care services involving minors, permission from a parent or guardian is required. In addition, Fayette County Schools will hire three Student Support Specialists to provide support to students/families and connect them to community resources.
Contact Tracey Davis, AWARE Director for more information:
tracey.davis@fcsk12.net or 901-465-5260 Ext: 2256'


Service Coordinator Name

Service Coordinator Email

Referral Pathway Live Form Link

Buckley-Carpenter Elementary

Cedric Muhammad 



La Grange Moscow Elementary

Kimberly Harris



Oakland Elementary

Miranda Turnley



Southwest Elementary

Kimberly Harris



East Jr. High

Annette Pugh 



West Jr. High

Betty Claybourne



Fayette Ware Comprehensive High

Quintessa Stewart & Tanchonika Harris



https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSf-iWt0GfMBTk2XM0vj2vQxRfs2Ng69diH2BK vs NN8A/viewform